Glamdring

Compliance automation

Vanta vs AuditBoard (Optro): plans and pricing

Vanta publishes named compliance plans; AuditBoard, now Optro, publishes a named-product catalogue without comparable tiers on its checked homepage. Neither checked page gives a numeric subscription price. Compare equivalent quoted scope before cost.

Glamdring Research7 min2 sources checked

Engraving of an auditor's desk with a magnifying lamp and ledgers

Vanta publishes Essentials, Plus, Professional and Enterprise plans.1 AuditBoard, now Optro, publishes products across audit, risk, infosec and compliance without a comparable plan-tier table on its homepage.2 Neither publishes a numeric subscription price on those pages, checked 28 September 2026.1,2 A lower-cost winner requires quotes for the same work.

TL;DR

  • Vanta Plus includes 25 questionnaires per year; Professional includes 144 and adds risk management, an Advanced Trust Center and further reporting and control functions.1 Evaluate the whole package when considering that upgrade.
  • Optro’s catalogue names OpsAudit, Controls Management and BCM alongside compliance, cyber risk and third-party risk products.2 Ask which named products a quote includes.
  • A published product name does not establish inclusion in every package: Vanta gives explicit tier descriptions, while Optro’s checked homepage lists products without a bundle breakdown.1,2 Compare the included scope before the headline cost.

What do Vanta and AuditBoard publish side by side?

Vanta publishes plan inclusions; AuditBoard, now Optro, publishes solution areas and named products.1,2 The public descriptions overlap on compliance and risk, but they give buyers different levels of detail about packaging.1,2 Start with the following distinctions when comparing compliance automation systems.

Published dimensionVantaAuditBoard, now Optro
Commercial packagingEssentials, Plus, Professional and a customizable Enterprise package.1A named-product catalogue; no comparable subscription-tier table on the checked homepage.2
Numeric subscription priceNot published on the checked pricing page; the vendor invites buyers to get personalized pricing.1Not published on the checked homepage; the vendor offers a demo.2
Compliance and audit scopeEssentials names automated evidence collection, basic audit workflows and continuous controls monitoring; the catalogue also lists Continuous GRC and Streamlined audits.1Solution areas include Audit and Compliance; product names include Controls Management, OpsAudit, CrossComply and RegComply.2
Risk scopeThe catalogue lists Risk Management and Third Party Risk Management; Professional explicitly includes risk management with customization, a dashboard and reporting.1The catalogue lists RiskOversight, Cyber Risk Management and TPRM.2
Customer-facing trustEssentials names Trust Center; Plus adds Questionnaire Automation; Professional names Advanced Trust Center.1The checked product catalogue does not list an equivalent customer-facing trust or questionnaire product.2
AI scopeThe catalogue lists AI Governance and Vanta AI; Essentials names Vanta AI Agent functions.1The homepage describes integrated AI governance; the catalogue lists AI Governance and Autonomous Testing.2

The Optro catalogue establishes the products it names, not a complete account of every feature it offers.2 Treat an unlisted feature as a question for the vendor, not proof that the feature is unavailable.

Has AuditBoard changed its name to Optro?

Yes. The company homepage checked on 28 September 2026 uses Optro and explicitly describes it as “formerly AuditBoard”.2 Use Optro when checking current product names, while retaining AuditBoard when searching older material.

What is included in Vanta’s published plans?

Vanta’s plan cards describe an Essentials foundation, additions in Plus and Professional, and a customizable Enterprise package.1 The cards identify several inclusions and annual questionnaire allowances, but they give no numeric subscription price.1 Use the named inclusions to define the package you want quoted.

PlanWhat Vanta’s plan card publishes
EssentialsOne compliance framework with an agentic policy generator; Vanta AI Agent functions including search, evidence checks, policy mapping, evidence collection and SLA tracking with remediation.1 It also names automated evidence collection for audit readiness, basic reporting and audit workflows, code change and continuous controls monitoring, Auditor API, Trust Center and access to expert partners for additional compliance services.1
PlusEverything in Essentials, plus automated policy onboarding, AI-powered Questionnaire Automation for 25 questionnaires per year and Access Management.1
ProfessionalEverything in Plus, with an allowance of 144 questionnaires per year.1 The card adds risk management with customization, a dashboard and reporting; Advanced Trust Center; custom monitoring tests and automation; automated access management; six customizable reports; advanced control management; and further AI Agent functions such as agentic issue management.1
EnterpriseA fully customizable package for advanced GRC needs.1 The card does not specify a fixed bundle or price.1

The phrase “Everything in Plus” sits alongside Professional’s stated allowance of 144 questionnaires per year.1 Read 144 as the Professional allowance, not an instruction to add the Plus allowance to it.

Vanta also lists Third Party Risk Management, Customer Commitments and AI Governance in its wider product navigation.1 Their presence in the catalogue alone does not establish inclusion in each plan.1 Ask for those products by name if they are part of the intended purchase.

For the standalone commercial question, see Vanta pricing.

What products does Optro publish?

Optro publishes Audit, Risk, Infosec and Compliance solution areas, with a separate catalogue of named products.2 The homepage describes a GRC system with real-time insights, autonomous testing and a connected enterprise view.2 These are Optro’s published descriptions, not an independently measured comparison with Vanta.

The product catalogue names the following products and links them to these subjects.2

Subject identified by the product label or linked destinationPublished Optro products
Controls and testingControls Management; Autonomous Testing.2
Operational audit and business continuityOpsAudit; BCM.2
Compliance controls and regulatory complianceCrossComply; RegComply.2
Risk, cyber risk and third-party riskRiskOversight; Cyber Risk Management; TPRM.2
AI governanceAI Governance.2

Optro also lists Analytics, Reporting & Dashboards, Integrations & APIs, Frameworks & Controls, and Services & Support under its platform navigation.2 The homepage does not state which combination of these functions and products forms a subscription package.2 Request a written inclusion list for the intended scope.

For an internal audit or business continuity requirement, Optro’s OpsAudit and BCM listings provide named products to investigate.2 Vanta’s checked page supplies more explicit packaging detail for evidence collection, customer questionnaires and trust documentation.1,2 That distinction supports a shortlist by workflow; it does not establish which system performs better.

Can the published information establish which costs less?

No. Glamdring Research’s verdict is to compare quoted scope before cost: Vanta supplies public tier descriptions, while Optro’s checked homepage supplies a product catalogue without comparable tiers or rates.1,2 Neither checked page provides the numeric subscription prices needed for a like-for-like cost comparison.1,2

Vanta asks buyers to request a demo and personalized pricing.1 Optro offers a demo without publishing a subscription rate on the checked homepage.2 A demo invitation does not establish a licensing unit, contract term, tax treatment or total purchase cost.

Ask both vendors to return a quote against the same requirements:

  • Name the compliance frameworks and workflows you need covered.
  • Specify the required questionnaire volume and customer-facing trust functions.
  • List audit, risk, continuity and AI governance requirements separately.
  • Require named inclusions, exclusions, usage limits and additional charges.
  • Record the licensing basis, contract period, currency and tax treatment.

For Vanta, map the requirements to a named plan and any additional products. For Optro, ask for the exact product combination. Compare the price only after both vendors have confirmed equivalent scope.

The checked sources establish published descriptions and packaging boundaries, not tested outcomes or negotiated prices.1,2 Our research methodology explains the distinction between company statements and independent conclusions.

Frequently asked questions

How much does AuditBoard cost per year?

An annual subscription price is not published on the AuditBoard homepage checked on 28 September 2026, which presents Optro products and a demo invitation.2 Request an annual quote for the named products you need. The checked homepage does not provide a numeric rate to annualize.2

Do both vendors publish AI governance products?

Yes. Vanta’s product navigation lists AI Governance, and Optro’s homepage and product catalogue also name AI Governance.1,2 A shared product label does not establish identical functionality or inclusion in the quoted package. Confirm the required functions and commercial scope with each vendor.

Are Vanta’s plans equivalent to Optro’s products?

The published descriptions do not establish equivalent bundles. Vanta identifies tier inclusions and allowances; Optro’s checked homepage lists products such as CrossComply and RiskOversight without mapping them to comparable subscription tiers.1,2 Ask each vendor to name the included products and limits before treating the quotes as comparable.

Explore the research archive for related enterprise-software comparisons.

Sources checked

  1. VantaChecked September 28, 2026
  2. Optro (formerly AuditBoard)Checked September 28, 2026

Company-owned pages establish what a company says. They do not prove a market conclusion. Each source is dated so readers can judge each claim.