Glamdring

HR and payroll

Deel vs Remote: official prices, September 2026

On a USD comparison basis, Deel's listed EOR fee is 599 versus Remote's 699; Remote's contractor fee is 29 versus Deel's 49. Confirm Deel's billing currency, country eligibility and full employment costs in matched quotes.

Glamdring Research7 min2 sources checked

Cutaway engraving of a home office overlooking a harbour city

Using USD as the comparison assumption for Deel’s dollar-only display, Deel’s listed employer of record (EOR) fee is lower: 599 per employee per month versus Remote’s explicit US$699, checked 28 September 2026.1,2 Confirm Deel’s billing currency in the quote before relying on that advantage. Deel reports EOR hiring in 130+ countries; Remote reports 90+.1,2 These are service fees and company-reported coverage; confirm the country and full quote before choosing.

TL;DR

  • Start with Deel for a lower listed EOR fee and a larger reported EOR footprint. Use your actual hiring countries to narrow the choice.1,2
  • Start with Remote for lower-priced standard contractor management. Its Contractor Management Plus and Contractor of Record services have different prices and responsibilities.1,2
  • Compare the same service in both quotes. Remote’s payroll-only product is for companies that already have legal entities; its lower fee buys a different service from EOR.2

How do Deel and Remote compare on published prices?

Deel lists the lower EOR fee, while Remote lists the lower standard contractor-management fee.1,2 Both list Contractor of Record services, but Remote qualifies its price with “From”.1,2 Compare each product separately before combining costs for an employee-and-contractor workforce.

Published itemDeelRemote
EOR fee, US$/employee/month59916992
Standard contractor management, US$/contractor/month49129; pay only for contractors you actively work with2
Contractor of Record, US$/contractor/month3251From 3252
Reported EOR coverage130+ countries190+ countries2

For the surrounding category, browse HR and payroll research.

The model treats Deel’s dollar-only display as USD; Remote’s captured pricing selector explicitly identifies USD.1,2 Both price captures are dated 28 September 2026.1,2 Tax treatment is not specified beside these prices. Confirm billing currency and applicable taxes in both quotes before relying on the numerical fee ordering.

The comparison basis is the published fee for the named product and billing unit. It excludes negotiated offers and currency conversions. See the research methodology for the publication’s evidence approach.

Which costs less per EOR employee?

Deel lists EOR at US$599 per employee per month; Remote lists US$699 for the same billing unit, making Deel the lower-priced option on this published-fee comparison.1,2 Both describe EOR hiring for companies that want to employ people without opening a local entity.1,2

Deel says its EOR fee covers onboarding, local compliance, payroll processing, tax filings, benefits administration and ongoing HR and legal support.1 Remote’s EOR entry lists specialist onboarding, local payroll, localized benefits, compliance protections, local experts and HR Essentials.2 These descriptions establish what the providers say they include, not a tested difference in service quality.

Keep the employee’s employment budget separate from the service-fee comparison. Remote describes salary and other invoice items that may be converted into the customer’s billing currency.2 Ask both providers for a country-specific breakdown of salary, employment costs, benefits and the EOR fee. Use the same hire and billing currency in each request.

Deel also says its pricing is month-to-month with no long-term commitment required.1 Its cancellation guidance still refers to local notice periods and severance obligations for EOR employees.1 Ask how those obligations would affect your exit costs before treating contract flexibility as a cost saving.

For more product-price context, read the Deel pricing analysis.

What do Deel and Remote charge for contractors?

Remote lists standard contractor management at US$29 per contractor per month, below Deel’s US$49.1,2 Remote says customers pay only for contractors they actively work with.2 That lower fee comparison applies to standard contractor management, not the higher-priced services that change compliance responsibilities.1,2

Deel’s contractor entry includes centralized management, automated invoicing, tax-document support and payments in 120+ currencies.1 Remote’s standard plan lists localized contracts, invoice approval or auto-pay, payment visibility and HR Core.2 Check the contract and payment workflow you need in each product before comparing price alone.

Remote lists Contractor Management Plus at US$99 per contractor per month, with stated coverage up to US$100,000 per contractor for penalties.2 Keep that plan separate from standard management when requesting a quote. Ask for the protection terms and exclusions that apply to your engagement.

For Contractor of Record, Deel lists US$325 per contractor per month; Remote lists From US$325 per contractor per month.1,2 Deel describes this as an alternative to classifying contractors yourself that shifts liability to Deel.1 Remote lists direct contractor engagement and payment by Remote, uncapped indemnity and IP-transfer support.2 The matching entry figure doesn’t establish matching final quotes or identical contract protection.

Choose the responsibility model first. Then compare its price and terms across both providers.

How many countries do Deel and Remote cover?

Deel’s pricing page reports full legal EOR employment in 130+ countries, while Remote’s reports entity-free employee hiring in 90+ countries.1,2 Deel therefore advertises the larger EOR footprint, but these totals don’t establish whether either provider can employ your particular hire.1,2

Deel also displays “150+ countries” in a general closing block on its pricing page.1 Use its EOR-specific 130+ figure for this comparison, because that is the count explicitly attached to legal employment.1 Keep EOR coverage separate from contractor payments and payroll coverage.

Remote says it directly owns the legal entities used for its EOR service.2 Treat that as Remote’s operating-model statement. Ask which entity would employ your worker and which services it provides in the target country.

Before selecting either provider, request confirmation for each intended country, worker type and start date. Include the employment arrangement and required benefits in that request. A larger advertised footprint should help build a shortlist; the country-specific answer should decide eligibility.

Which should you choose for your hiring plan?

Glamdring Research’s verdict is to start with Deel when the priority is a lower published EOR fee, and with Remote when it is lower-priced standard contractor management.1,2 This judgment assumes the chosen service is available for your intended hire and its contract terms meet your needs.

For a mixed workforce, separate EOR employees, standard contractors and Contractor of Record engagements in the quote request. Deel and Remote price these as distinct services.1,2 Ask each provider to return the same breakdown so a cheaper contractor fee doesn’t obscure a higher employee fee.

Include these questions in the request:

  • Can you provide the exact service in every intended hiring country?
  • What costs sit beside the listed service fee, and what taxes apply?
  • What billing term does this quote require?
  • What reserve payments or exit obligations could apply?
  • What protection does the contractor plan provide, and what does it exclude?

Remote says additional charges may apply to requested services or configurations, and reserve payments can apply in rare, high-risk circumstances.2 Deel’s cancellation guidance flags local employment obligations.1 A current quote that changes those costs or the available service can change the choice.

For a wider shortlist, read the Deel alternatives comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Does Remote require a minimum number of employees or contractors?

Remote says it has no minimum requirements or fees for adding direct employees, EOR employees or contractors.2 It specifies that payroll for direct employees uses its Global Payroll product.2 Ask Deel to confirm any minimum headcount or spend in its quote.

Does Remote charge platform, onboarding or setup fees for EOR?

Remote says it charges no platform, onboarding or setup fees for HR management, EOR and Contractor Management.2 Its separate Payroll product has an implementation fee and a recurring payroll delivery fee.2 Keep that distinction when comparing a payroll quote with an EOR quote.

Can annual billing change which EOR costs less?

An annual quote could change the comparison, but a lower annual Remote EOR rate is not specified in its pricing entry checked 28 September 2026; that entry lists US$699 per employee per month.2 Request the annual price, commitment and cancellation terms from both providers before budgeting a discount. Compare those quotes on the same billing term.

Sources checked

  1. Transparent pricing to help you growChecked September 28, 2026

Company-owned pages establish what a company says. They do not prove a market conclusion. Each source is dated so readers can judge each claim.