Glamdring

Spend management

Expensify vs Concur: official pricing, October 2026

Compare required inclusions and billing units before choosing. Expensify publishes member pricing; SAP Concur publishes USD per-report starting prices for Base and Plus, with custom Premium pricing. Neither establishes a universal cheapest vendor.

Glamdring Research10 min2 sources checked

Cutaway engraving of a taxi meter beside a hotel key card

Expensify lists Collect at $5 per member/month, checked 28 September 2026; SAP Concur lists Base starting at $7 per report (USD), checked 2 October 2026.1,2 Neither rate proves a universal cheapest choice: the billing units differ, and Concur’s price can vary based on monthly commitment.1,2 Compare the required plan’s inclusions before comparing costs.

TL;DR

  • Expensify Collect lists reimbursements, expense and travel approvals, travel booking and QuickBooks/Xero integrations together.1 Shortlist it when that matches the workflow you need.
  • Expensify Control is custom pricing, as low as $9 per active member/month.1 Multiple approval flows, ERP integrations and SAML/SSO are among its stated additions.1
  • SAP Concur publishes Base and Plus starting prices.2 Premium is custom pricing and explicitly lists Concur Travel and Intelligence alongside expense tools.2 All three list unlimited users.2
  • Confirm Expensify’s selected currency and both vendors’ tax treatment before comparing totals. The Expensify text has a currency selector without a confirmed selection; Concur explicitly states USD.1,2

For other comparisons in the category, browse spend-management research.

What is the main difference between Expensify and Concur pricing?

Expensify’s published paid-plan units are members per month; SAP Concur’s Base and Plus units are reports, with unlimited users.1,2 A headcount-based budget and a report-volume budget therefore need different inputs.1,2 The comparison below uses Expensify’s official pricing checked 28 September 2026 and Concur Expense’s official product pricing checked 2 October 2026.1,2

ComparisonExpensifySAP Concur
Entry planSubmit: free for all members.1Base: starting at $7 per report, USD; unlimited users.2
Published paid rateCollect: $5 per member/month.1Plus: starting at $11 per report, USD; unlimited users.2
Custom-price planControl: custom pricing, as low as $9 per active member/month.1Premium: custom pricing; unlimited users.2
Travel in explicit plan listsCollect lists travel booking, rules and approvals; Control includes everything in Collect.1Premium explicitly lists Concur Travel.2
Accounting and integration scopeCollect lists QuickBooks/Xero; Control adds NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Workday/Certinia integrations.1Concur describes ERP, HR and accounting integrations at product level; confirm the connector’s plan and price.2
Price conditionsAnnual-commitment and Expensify Card discounts are stated; selected currency and tax treatment are unconfirmed.1“Price can vary based on monthly commitment. All prices listed are in USD.”2 Tax treatment is unconfirmed.2

These are published vendor terms, not equivalent bundles or measured operating costs.1,2 Concur’s unlimited-users wording leaves the per-report charge in place.2 Likewise, Expensify’s Control wording distinguishes an active member from Collect’s member unit without establishing the billing definition.1

Use the research methodology to frame the evidence. For procurement, carry each checked date, billing unit and price condition into the quote request.

What does each Expensify plan include?

Expensify Submit lists individual expense-submission tools; Collect adds business reimbursement and approval workflows; Control adds more detailed controls and integrations.1 The official pricing checked 28 September 2026 lists Collect at $5 per member/month and Control at custom pricing, as low as $9 per active member/month.1 Treat the Control figure as a qualified advertised rate, not an automatic price for every account.1

PlanExplicitly listed inclusions
SubmitReceipt scanning, mileage tracking, expense reports, custom distance and tax rates, personal card import, chat on every expense, AI and human support.1
CollectReceipt scanning, reimbursements, corporate card management, expense and travel approvals, travel booking and rules, QuickBooks/Xero integrations, chat on expenses, reports and rooms, AI and human support.1
ControlEverything in Collect, plus multiple approval flows, custom expense rules, NetSuite and Sage Intacct ERP integration, Workday/Certinia HR integrations, SAML/SSO, custom insights and reporting, budgeting.1

Start the tier decision with your accounting system and approval requirements. QuickBooks/Xero appears in Collect’s list; NetSuite, Sage Intacct and multiple approval flows appear among Control’s additions.1 If those additions are requirements, request a Control quote before treating Collect’s member rate as your budget.

Expensify also states that discounts are available for annual commitments and when using the Expensify Card.1 Ask for the applicable rate with your intended card arrangements and contract term. Keep a discount separate from the published plan price until its conditions are confirmed.

For the dedicated pricing comparison, see Expensify pricing.

What does each SAP Concur plan include?

SAP Concur Base lists Concur Expense; Plus adds ExpenseIt, User Support Desk and Reporting; Premium also lists Concur Travel and Intelligence.2 Checked 2 October 2026, Base is starting at $7 per report and Plus is starting at $11 per report, both in USD; Premium is custom pricing.2 “Price can vary based on monthly commitment. All prices listed are in USD.”2

PlanExplicitly listed inclusionsUser allowance
BaseConcur Expense.2Unlimited users.2
PlusConcur Expense, ExpenseIt, User Support Desk, Reporting.2Unlimited users.2
PremiumConcur Expense, Concur Travel, ExpenseIt, User Support Desk, Reporting, Intelligence, “and more”.2Unlimited users.2

SAP Concur describes Concur Expense as cloud-based expense management software and ExpenseIt as AI-powered receipt capture that pulls details from receipts.2 If named receipt-capture, support and reporting tools are central to the purchase, Plus supplies a more explicit inclusion list than Base.2 Confirm the functions your team needs in the proposed configuration.

Travel needs a separate scope decision. Premium explicitly lists Concur Travel, while the broader product description says Concur Expense can be combined with Concur Travel and Concur Invoice.2 That combination statement does not establish Concur Invoice as an inclusion in any of these pricing tiers.2 Ask for Invoice to be named and priced if it is part of the requirement.

Use each list as evidence of stated inclusions. An omitted item alone cannot establish that a feature is unavailable through another arrangement.2

How can you compare monthly cost without mixing units?

Compare Expensify and SAP Concur by counting billable members and billable reports separately, then applying the relevant quoted rate.1,2 Use the same month’s workload and the same required features in both requests. The published rates support component illustrations; they do not establish a complete invoice or a cheapest-vendor ranking.1,2

Define M as your billable Collect members for the month and R as your billable Concur reports for that month. Confirm both billing definitions with the vendor before inserting your counts.

Component illustrationExpression using the published rateConditions to retain
Expensify Collect member componentM × $5 per month.1Selected currency and tax treatment unconfirmed; confirm the applicable member count and rate.1
SAP Concur Base report componentR × USD $7, using the starting-at rate.2Base is starting at $7 per report; price can vary based on monthly commitment. Tax treatment unconfirmed.2
SAP Concur Plus report componentR × USD $11, using the starting-at rate.2Plus is starting at $11 per report; price can vary based on monthly commitment. Tax treatment unconfirmed.2

The expressions assume the displayed rate applies to the counted units. They exclude any unconfirmed commitment minimum, tax, service or other charge. No currency conversion or final bill is implied.

In this component model, changing report volume changes Concur’s calculated amount even when the user count stays the same; changing billable member count changes Collect’s calculated amount.1,2 A team that files few reports and a team that files many reports therefore need separate comparisons.1,2

For Control, replace the advertised “as low as $9 per active member/month” with the confirmed rate and active-member definition before calculating a budget.1 For Concur Premium, obtain the custom price and billing basis first.2

Which costs still need a quote?

Expensify Control and SAP Concur Premium need custom pricing; the published Collect, Base and Plus rates still leave commercial terms to confirm.1,2 Control’s “as low as” qualifier and Concur’s monthly-commitment qualifier prevent those figures from serving as unconditional total-cost estimates.1,2

Request a written proposal that separates:

  • Recurring software charges, including the exact member or report definition.
  • Minimum commitments, unused allowance, excess usage and renewal terms.
  • Implementation, configuration, data migration and training, with any charge or included service stated.
  • Required accounting connectors, travel arrangements, invoice tools and support scope.
  • Currency, tax treatment, cancellation terms and data-export arrangements.

Expensify’s capture does not confirm the selected currency or whether its displayed prices include tax.1 Concur states USD, but its captured pricing section does not specify tax treatment or the commitment required to receive each starting rate.2 Ask for those terms beside the recurring rate.

SAP Concur’s broader integration and suite descriptions also leave the price of your required configuration to confirm.2 Specify the accounting connector and any Invoice requirement in the request. A product name in the wider suite should not substitute for a priced line item.

Which should you shortlist for your expense workflow?

Glamdring Research recommends shortlisting the lowest tier that explicitly lists your required workflow: Expensify Collect for its stated reimbursement, travel and QuickBooks/Xero bundle; SAP Concur Base for basic expense reporting or Plus for its named receipt-capture, support and reporting additions.1,2 Move to custom quotes when Expensify Control’s additions or Concur Premium’s stated Travel and Intelligence scope are requirements.1,2

Company size alone is an incomplete filter.1,2 Expensify positions Collect for small businesses and Control for larger businesses, while Concur explicitly positions Base for smaller businesses with basic expense reporting needs.1,2 Test both products against the required workflows before excluding one by size.

Run the same expense through both proposed configurations: capture a receipt, apply the company policy, route an exception, approve reimbursement and export the accounting detail. Add a travel booking if travel is in scope. Record manual corrections and confirm that the quoted tier supports each step.

Choose after the workflow test and like-for-like written quotes. For more vendor comparisons, follow published research.

Frequently asked questions

Is Expensify free?

Yes. Expensify lists Submit as free for all members and says individuals can use New Expensify with unlimited SmartScans for free, checked 28 September 2026.1 Submit lists receipt scanning, mileage tracking, expense reports and personal card import.1 Business reimbursements and expense/travel approvals appear in Collect’s paid-plan list, so confirm the company workflow you need before choosing the free option.1

What is an expense report in Concur’s pricing?

SAP Concur defines an expense report as a document employees use to record and request reimbursement for business expenses, including receipts, dates and expense descriptions.2 That report is a different unit from a user or an individual receipt.2 The product definition does not specify the event that makes a report billable under a contract.2 Ask whether submission, processing or another event determines the billed count, including how corrections are treated.

Can small businesses use SAP Concur?

Yes. SAP Concur says Concur Expense serves small and midsize businesses, and its Base plan explicitly targets smaller businesses with basic expense reporting needs.2 Base is starting at $7 per report, USD, with unlimited users, checked 2 October 2026; price can vary based on monthly commitment.2 Compare the required commitment with your expected report volume before selecting it.

Sources checked

  1. ExpensifyChecked September 28, 2026
  2. SAP ConcurChecked September 28, 2026

Company-owned pages establish what a company says. They do not prove a market conclusion. Each source is dated so readers can judge each claim.